top of page



Masters Div 2 POY – Ronan Stafford (Monasterevin AFC)

The KDFL Masters Div 2 player of the year goes to a player who had been with his current

club since 1997 were he started with the Senior team at the tender age of 16. He quickly

became a regular fixture in the team initially at right wing but played almost in every

position until eventually settling at centre back where the number 5 jersey was his own.

He captained the first team for over ten years , leading them most recently to a premier cup

win in 2014.

He retired in 2017 but returned to the club last season when the Masters team was

reformed, playing mainly in midfield, scoring several crucial goals along the way to the

shield final that year.

This season he again captained the over 35s from centre back and attacking midfield, driving

his teammates on and again reaching the final of the shield.

Ronan has been a stalwart of the Club for over 25 years and the club are very proud of his

achievements both on and off the field, affectionally know has Staffy. Div 2 Masters Player

of the Year, Ronan Stafford Monasterevin AFC.

Masters Div 1 POY – Ray Coleman (Newbridge Town AFC)

The Masters Div 1 player of the year is no stranger to the KDFL playing almost all of his

playing career in the League. He has also played in the LSL for a number of year and

returned to his local Club to finish our his junior career claiming several high profile trophies

on the way including, Senior League and League Cup. He then moved to management

however eager to return to playing, clearing too soon to hang up the boots he joined with

his current club at Over 35 level where he sits at the heart of their mean defence.

His drive and commitment as Captain of his team is unquestionable. Finally having come

close on a number of occasions, he has led his team to victory in the O35s Ace Sports

Masters Division 1 League, unbeaten, O35s Cup and reached the semi-final of the KDFL

League Shield, the first Over 35 team to do so. A recipient of the KDFL Overall Player of the

year in 2018. Masters Div 1 Player of the Year - Ray Coleman Newbridge Town AFC.

Womens Div POY – Amy Moran (Kilcullen AFC)

The KDFL Womens Division POY goes to a player who has represented her club well over theyears and in 2013 was part of the FAI Womens Junior Cup winning team when they

overcame Corrib Rangers at Newbridge Town to lift the KDFL first piece of national

silverware. The award is extra special for her this evening as she has been voted the best

player by her peers. She has shown great leadership both on and off the field and as a

goalkeeper is indeed the back bone of this team returning to the League this year. The

leadership and guidance she has show the younger players on the team is selfless. Womens

Division Player of the Year Amy Moran Kilcullen AFC

Div 2 PY – Dylan Barnby (Athy Town AFC)

The Division 2 POY is awarded to this young player back with his current club for a second

spell, having joined the underage section just two years ago and making a big splash at that

level. Fast forward eighteen months and still at the young age of sixteen he joined the

second team of his club for training sessions and blew the coaches away. He burst on to the

junior stage in June this year and has scored a total of 28 goals in 13 games helping his side

win promotion and was a huge player in his teams divisional cup final getting on the

scoresheet twice that day to see his side lift the cup. He also scored on his debut for the first

team in the FAI Junior Cup away to Willow Park. He is really one to watch and will surely

take the Senior League by storm next year. The Division 2 Player of the year Dylan Barnaby

Athy Town AFC

Div 1 POY – Conor Dowling (Old Fort Celtic FC)

The Division 1 POY is another player who took his coaches breath away when he came to

pre season training. He was very vocal on the pitch as a leader and physically as a player. His

work rate is second to none and he never complains and was always willing to push himself

as hard as he could. He is a great leader and was an instrumental part in his club’s recent

success in clinching the Division 1 League title at the first time of asking. Division 1 Player of

the year Conor Dowling Old Fort Celtic

Premier Div POY – Alan Campbell (Caragh Celtic FC)

The Premier Division POY has been awarded to a long serving player who seems to be

getting better with age. He is a terrific example for every young player both on and off the

pitch in terms of how he conducts himself in Training and in matches. While he has proven

himself to be very versatile over the years he has predominantly played in a left back

position where he has been outstanding both defensibly and in starting attacks from the

back as well as using his experience and knowledge of the game to be a tremendous leader

for his team. A well deserved honour for one of the best players in his club and league over

the years. Premier Division Player of the Year Alan Campbell Caragh Celtic

Senior Div POY – Johnny Fennell (Clonmullion FC)

The Senior Division POY goes to a player who joined his current club in 2019 and has been

ever present since. He is a quiet and unassuming man and a real street footballer. He has a

natural born talent and has been exceptional for his Club this year. One of the best attacking

full backs in the league who weighs in with goals and assists. He is a massive talent and

following his clubs league cup victory now has a full set of Senior Honours in the KDFL.

Senior Player of the year Johnny Fennell Clonmullion FC

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page