top of page

KDFL 2024 Season preview.

The KDFL kick off their 30th season this weekend where 65 teams across the all categories of the junior section will compete for silverware in this the 30th anniversary of the League. The Junior mens section welcomes new entrants BBC United making their return to the KDFL following an absence of sixteen years, Prosperous United, Kilcullen AFC, Sallins Celtic, Allenwood Celtic and Bush Celtic also making a return to the junior section and we welcome new club Cappakeel FC from Emo. Newbridge United welcome a second team to the junior section primarily comprising of their existing under 20 squad as we already see the transition of under 20s come to fruition. 

In the Masters Section Ballycane Celtic will compete for the first time and Kildare Town AFC women will return to the womens Section. There have been significant disbandment’s in the higher divisions including the loss of Clongorey FC, Suncroft AFC and Straffan AFC from the senior Division. Despite this the league have maintained and for the first time since 2017 have seen an increase across the mens junior section which is encouraging. This together with the vibrant Under 20 section should see some very welcomed stability within the junior section for the future. 

The Senior division will be hotly contested again this season with newly promoted Old Fort Celtic and the addition of Kilcullen AFC who are making a return to the junior section will make for some very interesting ties. 

The Premier division welcome three teams promoted from division 1, Moone Celtic, Clonmullion second team and Naas United FC, they will join existing Premier league sides Kildare Town AFC, Caragh Celtic and Newbridge United and senior relegated side Ballycane Celtic. The premier division is always very competitive and this year we are sure will be no different. 

Division 1 will be the largest division in the league with twelve clubs playing 22 games over the summer months, they include new entrants Bush Celtic, Cappakeel FC, Prosperous United, Newbridge United’s seconds, they will join exiting member clubs St Anthonys Youths FC, Clane United, Suncroft and Castle Villa FC. They will also be joined by Monasterevin AFC and Maynooth Town FC who were relegated from the Premier division. 

In Division 2 there will be eleven teams competing including new entrants BBC united, Straffan AFC and Allenwood Celtic FC, they will joined by current clubs Old Fort Celtic, Newbridge Rovers, Arlington FC, Moone Celtic, Caragh Celtic, Kildare Town and Div 1 relegated sides Kildare Town and Newbridge Hotspurs. 

The Masters divisions have maintained all current clubs including new entrants Ballycane Celtic with Kildare Town AFC women re entering the womens section.

The league will run through to the end of November with all clubs hoping to capture victory across eighteen various domestic competitions. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the very best of luck. 

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page