top of page


The festive surrounding of the Keadeen Hotel ballroom was the venue for the KDFL’s 29th Anniversary awards night celebrations on Friday evening last. Almost 200 people descended upon the hotel to celebrate another successful season in the KDFL.

Special guests included FAI Director of grassroots football Ger McDermott and Leinster Football Association administrator Peter Doyle. They were joined by representatives from the local press, ISRS Kildare Laois Branch members, association leagues and sponsors. A total of 46 awards were presented including all the League, Cup and Shield winners. There was a player of the year award is each division, overall player of the year, young player of the year, womens player of the year, goal keeper of the year, PRO of the year and many more. A full list can be found in this press release.

Regina Casey in opening the proceedings welcomed everyone to the event and reported the league kicked off on Friday 31st March completing a full domestic programme in which 519 league games and 123 cup games were played by our affiliates. With still a chance of silverware at Provincial and National level, we would like to wish our Clubs remaining in these competitions the very best of luck, including our Oscar Traynor squad who take on the Kilkenny & District League on Sunday 3rd Dec in the group stages of this year’s OT trophy. Our Women’s Representative team concluded their participation earlier in the year when they competed in the FAI Angela Hearst Inter League and the Leinster FA Women’s Inter League competition, securing runners up spot in the LFA Womens Shield.

Various presentations were made culminating in the Club of the year awards which was awarded to Clane United FC and Clonmullion FC. A special presentation was also made to league Treasurer and Assistant Secretary Karen Hickey who was recognised for her outstanding achievement of been elected to the Leinster Football Association Executive Committee, the first KDFL and women to be elected since the Associations foundation over 131 years ago. Following the presentations all danced the night award to Damien Coyne of So Fresh Entertainment.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page