top of page

Feature Game - So Fresh Womens Division

Monasterevin AFC 0 Sallins Celtic 8

Sallins travelled to Monasterevin for a Monday evening league match played in perfect conditions. Sallins were trying to keep up the good form they showed in their first league match as they try to retain the league title. Early exchanges were pretty evenly matched with Monasterevin causing Sallins a few problems down the left with the energetic Louise Scully unlucky not to score on more than one occasion. Sallins then got a foothold into the game and began to retain possession and started to create some really good attacking moves and it wasn't long before they were rewarded with probably the best goal of the evening from Sofia Di Stefano who finished off a good cross from the right on the volley with her right foot. A second goal came soon after with the unlucky Monasterevin defender turning the ball into her own net to make it 2-0. The impressive Leah McGovern added two quick goals and goals from Sarah McGovern and a no nonsense finish from Aoife de Faoite saw no way back for the home side. Moansterevin did have chances of their own with their never say die attitude and Hannah Plummer pulled off a great save from a powerful Monasterevin free kick from Louise Scully. The second half was alot closer with substitute keeper for the visitors Sarah McGovern pulling off a couple of good saves from Brianna Kaye and Chloe Farrell but Sallins got the upper hand scoring two further goals goals, one from a penalty which Katie O'Connor scored and the other from Hannah Plummer with a nice composed finish to round off an impressive performance from the current league champions. Best on the day for the winners were Anna Mcgilloway with a great performance at left back together with an all round team performance. Best for the home side were Brianne Kaye, Ava Whiteley, Louise Scully & Chloe Farrell.

Sallins Celtic FC Hannah Plummer, Anna Mcgilloway, Katie O'Connor, Lucy Cahill Emma Mooney, Sophie Lawlor, Sofia Di Stefano, Lucy Plummer, Sarah Mcgovern, Ella Tobin Aoife de Faoite, Leah Mcgovern

Monasterevin AFC Alice Breen, Ava Whiteley, Eleanor Scully, Kate Scully, Brianne Kaye (Capt) Rebecca Broughan, Julia Broughan, Hannah Grattan, Alma Harrak, Chloe Farrell, Louise Scully.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page