top of page


Old Fort Cetlic 0 6 Newbridge United FC

The Scott McNamara managed side Newbridge United FC clinched back to back Under 20 Div 1 League titles on Saturday following their 6-0 victory over OFC, claiming the League title with a game in hand. The game started at a quick pace by both teams with both sides not letting the other gain any foothold early on.  Newbridge did seem a bit nervy in the opening stages, but as the game went on they began to settle and play decent football.  The opening stages both teams defended strongly given nothing away. Both forced the other team into long shots that were either well dealt with by both keepers or shot wide. The visitors began to apply pressure from the half hour mark but old fort defended well. Newbridge got their deserved opener on the forty second minute when Callum Sinclair and Tom Walsh combined to send Ryan Kearney in on Goal and he blasted the ball past Cullen Lambert in the old fort goal. 

With nearly the last kick of the first half Newbridge we’re awarded a free kick which was taken by Ryan Kearney who shot and was spilled by lambert and landed at the feet of Callum Sinclair who smashed home from 8 yards to send the Newbridge side in 2-0 up at half time. 

The second half started with Newbridge bursting out of the blocks and on the forty seventh minute a corner swung in by Ryan Kearney was headed home by James Mahony. Newbridge we’re then awarded a penalty on fifty five minutes and Ryan Kearney got his second from the spot.  To their credit Old Fort kept battling and Dan Harty in the defence and Schilo Lifeta tried to get attacks going aided by Corey Maguire and Eoin McGrath. On the hour mark a run down the right and cross from Dennis Kave was slotted home by Cian Delaney to extend the lead to 5-0.  The scoring was completed on the sixty seventh minute when again a run down the right by Ryan Kearney was put in the bet by Syzmon Stepniak. 

Despite the score both sides played good football and was an entertaining game. 

Best for Old Fort Celtic were Dan Harry, Hotnel,  Mbeba, Schilo Lifeta and Eoin McGrath. 

Best for winners were Cian Delaney, James Mahony, Glen Bracken & Ryan Kearney.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page